Javascript Menu by

47 (!) New Franklin Letters Found

[Written in 1755, they'd be too early to mention the glass armonica, which Franklin invented in 1761. Nevertheless...]

British Copies Found of Ben Franklin Letters

New York Times

Compiled by DAVE ITZKOFF
Published: April 23, 2009

A professor from the University of California, San Diego, who was researching Benjamin Franklin at the British Library made a discovery on the last day of his trip in 2007: copies of 47 letters by, to and about Franklin that were written in the spring and summer of 1755 and not seen since. The university said that the letters, which were found by Alan Houston, a professor of political science, had been copied by Thomas Birch, a Franklin contemporary who was a prodigious transcriber and compiler of historical documents and later became secretary of the Royal Society. They were written to and from Franklin’s son William and his wife, Deborah, as well as the British general Edward Braddock, and cover a period during the French and Indian War when Franklin helped organize a Pennsylvania militia against the forces that threatened the colonies. The letters are being published in the April issue of The William and Mary Quarterly.

Original article…

Thomas Bloch in Boston

Glass Harmonica Performance at the PEM

April 24, 8:00pm-Boston Artists Ensemble performs with Thomas Bloch, the most prominent glass harmonica player in the world! Hear the U.S. Premiere of Sonatina By C.P.E. Bach for Glass Harmonica and Strings at the Peabody Essex Museum.


Veteran Glass Armonica Player K. Piotrowski in Piano Trio Concert

Brinkler Trio presents ‘From Parlor Room to Concert Hall’
Thursday, April 9, 2009
ROCHESTER — Step back in time as The Brinkler Trio in “From Parlor Room to Concert Hall” presents rare and enchanting classical piano trios, written between the 1830s to the 1890s, at the Rochester Opera House on Saturday, April 18, 8 P.M.

This music by composers such as Gaetano Donizetti, Louis Coerne and Emile Bourgois was originally written for small instrumental ensembles, which played in reception halls, courts, palace chambers and, later, in the intimate setting of the parlor room. These pieces were introduced to larger audiences with the rise of the concert hall in the 19th century.

The Brinkler Trio, named in honor of Alfred Brinkler, is comprised of pianist Kenneth Piotrowski, cellist Gary Hodges and violinist Sarah Barker. The Trio will present a premiere performance of Brinkler’s 1905 compositions “Grave” and “Allegro Moderato.”

Pianist Piotrowski studied piano, theory, counterpoint, composition and glass harmonica. He has performed in North and South America, Europe and Asia, has made nationwide radio and television appearances and is the author of numerous articles for American and European musicological journals.

WordPress Themes